Boy Scouting, one of the traditional membership divisions of the Boy Scouts of America, is available to boys who have earned the Arrow of Light Award and are at least 10 years old or have completed the fifth grade and are at least 10, or who are 11, but not yet 18 years old.  The program achieves the BSA's objectives of developing character, citizenship, and personal fitness.  Scout Law: A Scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent.

Troop 178 was started in 1960, sponsored by Ivey Memorial Methodist Church. Its first Scoutmaster was James Bland. W.L. Coulbourn was the Committee Chairman and William Chappell was the Pastor of Ivey Memorial. The Troop has had seven Scoutmasters since 1960 and forty-seven Eagles. The Troop goes on campouts, fishing trips, summer camp, and day events such as Laser Tag, bowling, go carting, and biking. There are also Merit Badge events. Service projects include Petersburg National Battlefield, Pocahontas State Park, Pamplin Park, Five Forks Battlefield and Scouting for Food. The Scoutmaster is John Turner and the Committee Chairman is Art Faithful. The Troop meets at Ivey Memorial Methodist Church on Tuesday evenings from 7:00 pm to 8:30 pm.

For more information go to or call Art Faithful at (804) 265-8723.


Print | Sitemap
© Ivey Memorial Methodist Church